AMSRO Award honours memory of Jayne Van Souwe

Dear AMSRO members,

It is with great sadness that we inform you that our dear friend, colleague and mentor, Jayne Van Souwe, Principal at Wallis, died peacefully yesterday at 2.30am. Her husband Paul and best friend Sue were at her side.

A tireless contributor to our industry, Jayne was a member of the AMSRO Executive (2016-2017) and before that on the wider AMSRO committee for many years.

Jayne’s efforts in working on research industry privacy issues are unparalleled. She was an industry representative on the AMSRO Privacy Compliance Committee for over a decade (2008 – 2019). She was instrumental in ensuring that AMSRO established Australia’s first industry privacy code (The Market and Social Research Privacy Code) and in updating and rewriting the Code again in 2013 ahead of legislative changes. The registration of two privacy codes on the Federal Register of Legislative Instruments and the Community and NGO Australian Privacy Award in 2009 is a testament to her exceptional work and industry leadership in this area.

The AMSRO privacy code which Jayne helped establish remains one of the industry’s most significant and enduring achievements, providing real benefits to both respondents and research organisations, ensuring that privacy law is understood, respondent rights are protected and providing a stable environment for legitimate industry players to operate in. Indeed, without Jayne’s leadership in driving the privacy code, AMSRO’s Trust Mark – which continues to demonstrate member organisations’ commitment to best practice across privacy, quality and ethics – would not have ensued.

Jayne was widely respected and admired by all in the research industry with whom she had dealings. She exhibited all the qualities we hold dear – excellence in research, integrity in her approach, and the most rigorous sense of ethics in all she undertook.

In recognition of Jayne’s selfless commitment, passionate advocacy and leadership on behalf of the industry over many years, the AMSRO Executive has chosen to rename the recently launched Research Industry Leadership Award, in her honour – the ‘Jayne Van Souwe Research Industry Leadership Award’. The Award acknowledges those people who have made a significant and long-term contribution to the Australian research, data and insights industry and goes a little way towards honouring our beloved friend and colleague.

Yours sincerely,

Craig Young (President AMSRO) & ​​​​​​Sarah Campbell (Executive Director AMSRO)


Click here to download the official AMSRO statement